Sunday, November 22, 2015

green nacho salad recipe

As promised on Facebook yesterday, here is the recipe for green nacho salad (which I called green taco salad by mistake). 


Ingredients:
- 1 cup shredded salad greens (cos lettuce, iceberg, whatever) 
- third of a cup of chopped parsley
- 100gm canned black beans
- 3 tablespoons jarred salsa
- 3 tablespoons Chobani 0% Greek yoghurt 

Method:
Basically, you just layer the ingredients in order. You can vary the ingredients and quantities to suit. 

Because of the parsley and beans, this dish is high in protein and iron. It's also low calorie yet super filling and tasty. It's quick to throw together with leftovers and staples and is a great alternative when, due to laziness or cravings, I feel like reaching for junk food. 

Lettuce doesn't offer much nutritional punch so you might like to replace or supplement it with these ideas; 

Other ideas for salad greens: kale, cucumber, spring onion, different kinds of lettuce, finely chopped raw broccoli, blanched runner beans, snow peas. 

In addition to the parsley, you could also add any other herbs or superfoods. I hate coriander but it would be an obvious match for Mexican flavours. You could easily slip in some amaranth (a great plant protein source), chia or stir some spirulina into the salsa. 

And speaking of salsa, if the high-salt processed kind bothers you, you could always make your own. You could also add corn kernels, avocado, whatever takes your fancy. 

As made above, this dish was only 200kcal, around 15gm protein and contained half my daily iron requirements. I know it's not pretty but you can't believe how tasty and filling it is until you try it! So I hope you'll give it a go. 
 

24 comments:

  1. UGG Bailey Button 5803 Boots,which is one of our best-selling products, offers a cool comfy casual look according to your fashion sense.
    UGG Bailey Button 5803 Boot Grey
    UGG Bailey Button 5803 Boot Sand
    UGG Bailey Button 5803 Boot Navy
    UGG Bailey Button 5803 Boot Red
    http://www.pinboots.com/
    39$ ugg5803/5854/5825
    59$ ugg5815
    79$ ugg5873

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Nhờ thành phần dưỡng chất và dược chất đa dạng như vậy mà công dụng của nhân sâm hàn quốc tại tphcm cũng vô cùng phong phú giúp con người bồi bổ sức khỏe nhan sam han quoc ngăn ngừa, điều trị nhiều thể bệnh khác nhau.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Trong đông trùng hạ thảo tây tạng đông trùng hạ thảo đông trùng hạ thảo tây tạng tại TP HCM có các thành phần quan trọng đông trùng hạ thảo hàn quốc Đà Nẵng giúp hỗ trợ điều trị bệnh nâng cao hệ miễn dịch, phòng chống các bệnh do đông trùng hạ thảo hàn quốc Đồng Nai virus như cảm cúm, viêm gan, thành phần đông trùng hạ thảo hàn quốc TP HCM Diosmol ngoài công dụng làm giảm mỡ máu, đường huyết và cholesterol, còn giúp mạch máu giãn nở đông trùng hạ thảo tây tạng tại Hà Nội, chống bệnh về tim mạch hết sức hữu hiệu đông trùng hạ thảo hàn quốc Hà Nội, giúp giảm sinh trưởng của tế bào xấu, tăng lượng oxy trong máu.

    ReplyDelete
  5. bột sâm được chế biến từ củ hồng sâm 6 năm tuổi. bột hồng sâm Đầu tiên, sâm tươi sẽ được hấp rồi sấy khô thành hồng sâm có độ ẩm dưới 14% để làm khô nguyên liệu trước khi nghiền. Trong quá trình xử lý nhiệt số lượng và hàm lượng saponi sẽ tăng lên. bột sâm hàn quốc sẽ được nghiền thành bột hồng sâm, vì vậy bột hồng sâm hàn quốc có chất lượng tương đương hồng sâm nguyên củ.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anthropology Optional Online Class for IAS/PCS
    by Pradip Sarkar
    Starting from 18th Feb. 2019
    FEE: Rs 24,900/- Only
    Admission Open, Join Now
    Apply here: https://goo.gl/8uwhJH

    PACKAGE: Online & Recorded Class + Study Materials + Test Series.

    FEATURES OF OUR ONLINE CLASS:
    1. Live and recorded class of the entire syllabus with unlimited time.
    2. live doubt clearing and interaction with teacher
    3. Live assignment submissions and evaluation by teacher
    4. Complete, well processed meticulously designed study materials i.e. ready to write form.
    5. UPSC oriented test series to streamline answer writing skill for higher scoring (more than 300+ marks).
    6. Highly experienced and professionally committed faulty.
    7. Comprehensive and time bond coverage of the syllabus.
    NOTE:- Only Sapiens IAS providing complete study materials for Anthropology

    Visit: https://bit.ly/2S6OarV
    Email: info@sapiensias.in
    Call: 9718354962, 8700922126
    Address: 17A/44, W.E.A. 3rd Floor, Near Karol Bagh Metro Station (Pillar No. 99), New Delhi- 110005.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Bike Rental in Manali

    As an adventure touring company, Enfield Point specializes in small-group, long-duration scenic and cultural motorcycle tours to areas of the world neither easily accessible nor commonly visited by most, especially in Himalayas. We cater to the experienced, self-sufficient rider who seeks a more challenging and unique experience.

    http://www.enfieldpoint.com/bike-rental-manali.htm

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wethecoders is one of the leading online assignment help services. wethecoders.com always take step towards your satisfaction. We work hard so that you can get good grades. Our prime motto is to help you to get good grades in your assignment, project and homework. Our team is professional and knowledgeable. We are here to help you 24/7. Try once to take the advantage of our services and we assure you that you will get surely the



    Read More: http://www.wethecoders.com/android-project-help/

    http://www.wethecoders.com/java-project-help/

    http://www.wethecoders.com/database-project-help/

    ReplyDelete
  9. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for dropping by. I'd love to hear your thoughts......